Laureates of the International Banach Prize – edition 2021




The dissertation title: “Singularity of minimalization map harmonic into closed varieties”,
supervisor: dr hab. Anna Zatorska-Goldstein, prof. UW, University of Warsaw

Michał Miśkiewicz’s dissertation concerns the set of singularities of transformations minimizing the Dirichlet functional between manifolds. The subject matter goes back to the 80’s, when Schoen and Hlenbeck have shown that such transformations are regular except on a set of codimension 3. Since then, properties of the set of singularities attracted the attention of many outstanding mathematicians, such as Brezis, Eells, Lieb, Lin or Yau. The problem is mathematically interesting because the fact that the set of singularities is nonempty is by itself already unexpected, let alone that it has rich analytic and geometric properties. One can thus say that the subject matter fits in the mainstream of interests of modern geometric analysis.




The dissertation title: “Weak methods of convergence of equations in mathematical physics and biology”,
supervisor: dr hab. Agnieszka Świerczewska-Gwiazda, prof. UW, University of Warsaw

The dissertation of Tomasz Dębiec is concerned with weak solutions in a multitude of important models of dynamics of continua and hydrodynamics. The applications of these models, apart from mathematical physics, also reach biology. The cases under consideration include, among others, the Euler-Korteweg equations, compressible Euler and Navier-Stokes equations, and the cancer growth model with two cell types.




The dissertation title: “Anisotropic methods of the smallest gradients”,
supervisor: prof. dr hab. Piotr Rybka, University of Warsaw

The dissertation of Wojciech Górny concerns the least gradient problem. It offers a modern approach to a number of questions originating from the classic geometric analysis, such as investigating minimal surface, as well as arising from applications to the optimal transportation theory, modeling of electrical conductivity, and more general properties of materials.

Laureates of the International Stefan Banach Prize (editions 2009-2017)

2017 Anna Szymusiak (Poland)

for the dissertation „Minimization of the entropy of measurement for symmetric POVMs and their informational power” under the supervision of dr. Wojciech Słomczyński, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science of the Jagiellonian University

2016 Adam Kanigowski (Poland)

Institute of Mathematics, Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw for the dissertation „Własności ergodyczne gładkich potoków na powierzchniach” under the supervision of prof. Mariusz Lemańczyk, Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń and dr. Joanna Kułaga-Przymus, Polish Academy of Sciences & Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń

2015 Joonas Ilmavirta (Finland)

for the dissertation “On the Broken Ray Transform” under the supervision of prof. Mikko Salo, University of Jyvasyla

2014 Dan Petersen (Denmark)

University of Kopenhagen, for the dissertation “Topology of moduli spaces and operads” under the supervision of prof. Carel Faber, KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm

2013 Marcin Pilipczuk (Poland)

for the dissertation „Nowe techniki stosowane przy rozwiązywaniu wybranych problemów NP-trudnych” under the supervision of dr. Łukasz Kowalik, Faculty of Mathematics, Informatics and Mechanics, University of Warsaw

2012 Andras Mathe (Hungary)

for the dissertation „Izomorficzne problemy miar Hausdorffa i ograniczenia Hoeldera dla funkcji” under the supervision of prof. Miklos Laczkovich, Institute of Mathematics, Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest

2011 Łukasz Pańkowski (Poland)

for the dissertation „Twierdzenia o łącznej uniwersalności a twierdzenie Kroneckera o aproksymacjach diofantycznych” under the supervision of prof. Jerzy Kaczorowski, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań

2010 Jakub Gismatullin (Poland)

for the dissertation „G-zwartość i grupy” under the supervision of prof. Ludomir Newelski, University of Wroclaw

2009 Tomasz Elsner (Poland)

for the dissertation „Teoria powierzchni minimalnych w przestrzeniach systolicznych” under the supervision of prof. Tadeusz Januszkiewicz, University of Wroclaw